Still kickin’ around

Sorry for the lack of updates, folks.  My computer finally flat out died.  And while I was willing to type up a report using my cell phone (I totally did, too!) I wasn’t feeling up for writing blog posts that way.  I’ve got a better way to update now, so I’m should be posting a little more.  I’ve finished two rotations since my last post and started a third, so I’ve got some catching up to do!  Plus, I’ll want to share some of the things our intern group is doing for National Nutrition Month and the whole slew of projects I’ve been working on. 

I also want to share a couple of things with you.  First, check out this link to HuffPo on how you can voice your opinion on the proposed changes to the nutrition labels.  I’m glad that the labels are being updated.  I don’t think the new design is perfect, but it’s a step.  If it were up to me, I’d also have a column for the nutrition information for the entire bag.  Many people eat the whole package of something, but can’t do the math to figure out how many calories they ate, how much sodium they just consumed, etc.

If anyone is going to be at Public Policy Workshop, let me know!  I’ll be headed there as a representative of the St. Louis Dietetic Association and I’d love to meet up with other bloggers.  You’ll probably see me with a camera or two, taking a bunch of pictures, or constantly updating the SLDA twitter account from my phone.  I am really looking forward to PPW2014.  I plan on learning a lot of tips for grassroots action, then bringing back that information to the SLDA and putting it in action for our Legislative Day (when we go meet with our state level legislators.)  I’ve been prepping for PPW2014 by reading Congress for Dummies, since it’s been a while since I’ve had American Government Class.  If anyone has been to PPW and has any advice, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

