Don’t forget to vote!

If you’re a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, don’t forget to vote in the AND elections!

As a child, I was instilled with the firm belief that you should always vote when you have the opportunity to do so.  I was pretty much raised with the belief of “If you don’t vote, then don’t complain because you didn’t even bother to try to get your voice heard in the first place.”  Since I turned 18, I’ve only missed two elections – a college vote because I didn’t go to campus that week and forgot it was happening, and a local election because I had just moved and hadn’t registered to vote yet.  (Generally, registering to vote and getting a library card are the first two things I do when I move.)  I’ve even voted in co-op elections!

So, yes, I’ve voted in the AND elections.  Normally with the AND elections, I’ll make my decision based on the little paragraph next to the photo.  This year, though, I actually clicked on the “View Bio” link under the pictures and read each bio!  I focused on the candidate answers to two questions – “Describe how you would advance the Academy’s Strategic Plan” and “Describe an issue affecting the profession that you are most passionate about and actions you have taken related to this issue.”  If I couldn’t decide, then I looked at “Describe your experience in the area of public policy and advocacy at the state, local or national level.”

Anyhow, if you’re a member of the AND, go vote!  Take part in shaping our profession’s future!  (Plus, you might win a free trip to FNCE.)

Leave a Reply

