TED Talks: food, nutrition, and health

TED talks are awesome.  (If you don’t know what TED talks are, I highly suggest you go check out the TED Talks website.)  Here is a round-up of some of my favorite TED talks focusing on food and nutrition.  In no particular order:

 

Ron Finley: A Guerilla Gardener in South Central LA

I’ve always had a slight interest in guerilla gardening (and attempted it myself by sprinkling flower seeds in various public areas) but this talk is great.  Why not take guerilla gardening beyond flowers and use it to transform food deserts?  (Not sure what a food desert is?  Check this out and find out if you live in one.)  This is a spectacular talk.

Britta Riley: A garden in my apartment

Britta Riley, founder of Window Farms, talks about how open source ideas can work.  While this one isn’t technically strictly about food, nutrition or health and more about open-source projects, since this is about Window Farms, I’m sharing this one.  (I think window farms are a great idea, but then again, I’m a fan of all vertical gardening.)  If you’re not familiar with Window Farms, it’s pretty much what it sounds like: growing food in your windows.  As someone who has lived in a lot of apartments, this appeals to me.  Currently, I have a balcony so I’ve been growing a few things there, but who knows what my next place will be like.  Maybe I’ll have a window farm there.

Graham Hill:  Why I’m a weekday vegetarian

I feel like everyone has heard of “Meatless Mondays” and the benefits of eating plant-based diets, but not everyone is willing to make the jump to full-blown vegetarianism or veganism.  This “weekday vegetarian” concept is a great idea.

There are a lot more TED talks about food, nutrition, health, gardening, community involvement, etc, that I love.  I don’t want to make this post overly long, so I’ll share some more TED talks in future posts.

One thought on “TED Talks: food, nutrition, and health

  1. Pingback: TED talks: roundup 2 | Dispatches from the DI

Leave a Reply

