Anxiety is a hard thing to quiet sometimes

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been getting nervous because I hadn’t heard anything from my internship.  All my co-workers (former classmates) had heard from their internships.  They have books to read, case studies to work on, and forms to fill out.

So, of course, I of the over-active imagination, began to panic that I had been dropped from my internship.  Did I miss an email that required a response?  Had they sent a packet and I just hadn’t gotten it?  What if they had called on a day my phone wasn’t working properly?

My mind went into over drive.  I finally voiced my worries to my friend who already is an RD and she just rolled her eyes at me and calmed me down.  “Look,” she said, “you’re their intern now.  They’re going to do everything they can to get you successfully through the internship.  They’re not going to drop you now.  They’ll do everything they can to get in touch with you.”

Of course, she’s right.  A couple of days after that conversation, I got a call from my internship to verify my address because they’re sending me a packet of things I need to do.  I suppose after a year of anxiety stemming from working on the DICAS application, the actual Matching process, school (more than the last year!)…. it all just became hard to remember to relax.  So!  My new resolution (because resolutions are for any time, not just for New Year’s Eve/Day) is to take a deep breath every time I start feeling panicked/anxious/stressed out whenever I think about my internship.  Granted, I could do that every time I start feeling stressed out, but…meh, start small.

Easier said than done, perhaps.

I just looked at the calendar.

I have two months.

I have a lot to do.

Deep breath in, deep breath out.  Deep breath in, deep breath out.

I can do this.

Leave a Reply

