2.5 months

I work with the Summer Food Service Program with a handful of other future interns.  Today, I was sitting in the same work area as one of the other Fall interns, discussing our upcoming internships and how we were trying to make sure all of our SFSP duties were wrapped up before we left, when she said, “We’re going to be gone in two and a half months.  I want everything here to be ready to be closed out.”

All I could focus on was: “two and a half months,”

Two and a half months.

I felt myself start to get anxious.  There’s so much to do!  I still have to get my official transcript and my Verification Statement.  I have to start selling my furniture on Craigslist.  I need to find a place to live in my new city.  (Although, I have narrowed it down to three neighborhoods I like.)  I need to purge my closets of anything I don’t wear.  I need to purge my life of clutter (that printer I’ve been too lazy busy to fix?  out the door!)  I need to finish making gifts for people.  I need to go explore those remaining places around here that I haven’t been to yet.  I need to, I need to, I need to…

I realize the irony that my first post, ten days ago, was about not feeling the urgency of prepping for the internship and now this post is all about the anxiety I’m beginning to feel.  I can’t help it – maybe it was hearing someone else actually say how much time remains before we begin our respective internships but something has flipped the switch in me today and all I can think about it the time remaining and all the things I have to do.

Leave a Reply

